NatureNews Holds 2nd Anniversary/HEAD Awards

NatureNews media, Africa’s formost digital newspaper on environment and climate change issues has held its 2nd anniversary/ Hero of Environment Action for Development (HEAD) Awards ceremony which hosted dignitaries.

The event which was held on Thursday January 19, opened with the welcome address by the publisher/Editor in chief of NatureNews Media, Aliu M. Akoshile, who welcomed the guests and expressed his excitement over their show of support to the quest for clean living and sustainable environment.

In his speech, the Minister of Environment, Barr. Mohammad H. Abdullahi, noted that the cost of tackling climate change especially in developing countries like Nigeria, is high, running into hundreds of billions of US Dollars annually, constituting a huge challenge financially.

“While financial support is critical to build resilience, accessing international climate finance has been an herculian task for a lot of developing countries including nigeria.

“However, Nigeria has taken a bold step to finance climate compatible developments through the collaborations of the finance ministry and other finance systems of government and the capital market to issue sub-saharan first ever sovereign green bonds in 2017 and the second in 2018.” He said.

He also expressed optimism that NatureNews will use its platform, both online and offline to promote and collaborate on environmental and climate change awareness and education of the Nigerian populace.

In her speech, the Minister of Finance, Zainab Shamsuna Ahmad also expressed satisfaction on the activities of NatureNews Media centering on major tropical environmental and climate change issues.

Represented by Zainab Maisagi, a Deputy director in the ministry of Finance, budget and national planning, the minister promised continuous collaborations with NatureNews to ensure a sustainable environment.

Other dignitaries at the event include, Mrs Hawe Hamman Bouba, a member of the advisory board of NatureNews; Prof. Abiodun Adeniyi of the department of mass communication, Base University; Chief Kanu Agabi SAN, former attorney general of the federation and minister of justice, among others.

The awardees included: Mustapha Gajibo – winner, Renewable Energy category; Coca-cola – winner, Climate mitigation category; Yemisi Iranloye – winner, agric value-chain category; Seplat – winner, corporate sustainability category; Government of Rivers State – winner, Environment Health Category; Heritage bank – winner, climate financing category; Phoenix renewables – winner climate Adaptation category; Gombe State – winner, water, sanitation and hygiene category and NALDA – winner, Agric and Biosafety Category.

Leave a Reply